19 Days and Counting…

There are only 19 days left of the summer for my kiddos! Boy did this “summer” fly by. It is currently 55 degrees at 9:15am!! Not my idea August in Michigan. Feels more like the middle of October! Never the less the end of summer is here which means schools supplies, new clothes and of course a brand new routine. This time of year tends to make me go a little crazy getting it all together.

One thing that has made our life easier is having the kids eat lunch at school. Not to start a debate but with Michelle Obama’s healthy eating thing I at least know that there are healthier options for my kids to choose from at school.

The other thing I have found and going to try is making and then freezing breakfast muffins for the kids in the morning. In our area different schools start at different times so making breakfast can be a pain. With the muffins, the kids can grab some out of the freezer, pop them in the microwave and have a yummy and filling breakfast. (I don’t have to do anything!!) Hehe!! Pintrest was my friend when searching for muffin recipe’s.

Creating a Ready Station is something I am currently putting together. This station will be used as a central location for the kids and their stuff. In the evening they get everything together for the next day (including book bags, snacks, sports equipment, musical instruments, ect.) and put it in the Ready Station. In the morning, all they have to do is get their breakfast, brush their hair/teeth and get dressed. I have a feeling our mornings will be going a whole lot smoother. 🙂

Routine is important to me and for my kids. With our family’s schedule getting ready to go nuts, they need to have some sense of what to expect. So here is our current schedule as we head into the new school year.

We do not have the schedules for fall sports yet so I’m sure this routine will change a little as we add and subtract sports.

Leave a comment