New at the Blog Thing!

Well I guess I will just start this off by saying “Hi, my name is Andrea.” How’s that?? I am very new at this blogging this so please bear with me. I am a mama of 3 kiddos Alanah (12), Mikaylynn (8) and Lyam (6). I am married to a man that I love but drives me a bit nuts sometimes 🙂 After almost 6 years of marriage and 15 years of knowing each other, I finally turned him into a hick!!! Hehe, and he looks really good in camo!

We are doing our best to raise a family that is “In this World, Not of It” and let me tell you, it is a lot harder than you would think. Between social media, tv, movies, friends, ect it takes daily conversations with our kids to redirect them to what God wants. This on top of all the normal daily goings on in a crazy moms life; dishes piling up, laundry needing to be done/put away, homework checked, science projects worked on, sleepovers and the list  goes on.

Sometimes I just have to take a minute (usually early morning or after kids go to bed with some tea) to remember what is important. Can those dishes and laundry wait until homework and projects are taken care of? What about bedtime stories? I read a blog entry the other day (I’m sorry I can’t remember which right now but I’ll look for it) and it talked about not being able to be friends with someone if they had to spend 3 hours cleaning before they came over. I had to share that with a really good friend of mine because that is us. Our houses are usually messy, dishes not done and toys everywhere. In the grand scheme of things, what is really important?

Well my kids are getting older so chores become a big part of my cleaning process. I thought it was going to be great! Tell said kid to clean the bathroom and 30 minutes later the bathroom would be clean. HAHAHAHA Only in the movies does that happen! First you can’t just say “Clean the Bathroom”. You have to SHOW them what/how to clean the bathroom. Then you have to stay with them the first, second, third….time until they get it down. Then you let them off the leash and help if needed. Then you finally can just say “Clean the Bathroom” and expect them to do it. This does not mean they will 🙂 If they do not clean the bathroom, proper discipline is required. Now of course before  you start this whole process you have to explain the consequences if they do not do the chore.

I had no idea all of this was involved in one simple request. Funny how that is. I mean why would I expect my kids to just do something they don’t know how to do if I wouldn’t be able to something I didn’t know how to do? Sample 1 of life as a crazy mom. Oh and by the way, doing all those steps for 1 chore for 1 child and times that by 3!! Yikes!

Ok, I am thinking that I have scared you all enough for now 🙂 Thanks for checking out my blog!

Crazy Mom, Signing Off

Here is my family at our church’s annual Family Camp. Alanah, Lyam, Me, My husband Larry and Mikaylynn

Leave a comment